Cinnabuns!!!!!

Much like this blog I had been talking about cinnamon rolls or Chelsea buns for a while before I bit the bullet and actually made some.IMG_20150408_181403

For something spur of the moment and having convinced myself due to a cough I was semi- delirious. These weren’t too shabby.

20150408_173002

As this was a last minute thing I couldn’t fall back on my usual sweet dough recipe as that uses milk powder of which I have none, because who uses milk powder on a regular basis? Also I can only seem to find those mammoth size tubs of it which I don’t need. So onto another recipe.

I wanted a recipe quick so the first that came up was BBC Paul Hollywood’s recipe.

There was no butter or sugar.

Paul. My blue eyed fox. What is going on?

Gap tooth girls take on Mr Hollywood’s bun recipe

  • 250g white bread flour
  • 130g full fat milk
  • 40g butter
  • 30g sugar
  • 5g yeast
  • A generous pinch of salt
  • 1 egg

Filling

  • 15g melted butter
  • 40g dark muscovado sugar
  • 2g cinnamon
  • a sprinkle of ginger

The buns – I ignored Paul’s method and did my own thing but feel free to do as he does.

I had to activate my yeast by warming the milk ( body temperature warm, 37 degrees) and whisking in the yeast. Leave this for 15 minutes until the top of the milk is bubbly.

In a bowl put all the dry ingredients and rub in the butter, add in the milky yeast and egg.

Mix together to make a dough and knead on dusted work surface ( dusted with more bread flour) for 5 minutes until smooth and stretchy. Shape into a ball.

Leave to proof for an hour or so in a lightly oiled bowl until doubled in size.

This part is where the filling comes in

Mix all dry ingredients together for the filling to make a simple  cinnamon spiced brown sugar.

Roll out dough to a rectangle. Brush over melted butter and sprinkle brown sugar over.

Roll into a sausage ( like a swiss roll) so that your sugar mixture is encased and cut into 3 cm logs.

Places these logs standing up ( so you can see the spiral of sugar) in a baking tray or pan that has been lightly oiled.

Leave to rise for 30minutes.IMG_20150408_181538

Bake at 180 for 25 minutes.

When my buns came out of the oven I glazed them by brushing them with warmed apricot jam and did a simple icing over the top. Th icing was just 100g icing sugar, a drop of vanilla extract and and teaspoon or two of hot water. All of this was mixed and drizzled over my buns. IMG_20150408_181421

Leave a Reply

