Roasted strawberry buttercream & lemon cupcakes

20150507_164347

So I’ve  been on this bus for nearly 30 minutes. It was supposed  to  be a 10 minute journey. So instead of being even more sour faced than I already am, I decided to use this time to update. So here it is. I knocked up this batch of lemon cupcakes with roasted strawberry butter cream for my best friend’s  birthday.

He said raspberry butter cream.

I said tough.

As you would of already seen before the classic same quantity cake reared its head again.

20150507_164315

First the roasted strawberries. As strawberries are everywhere at the moment and are beautiful to look at but not very delicious,I thought I would do something useful with them and roast them. I’ve had my eye on roasting strawberries for some time now the only problem is, I am not terribly fond of them. As far as i am concerned raspberries trump strawberries in every way. Nevertheless . Take a punnet of strawberries wash and hull. Put on a tray sprinkle with a little lemon juice and 2 table spoons of sugar. Roast in oven for 1 hour on a lowish heat 150 until soft and juicy. Scrap everything into a bowl. EVERYTHING especially all the juices. They be the bomb.

Ingredients

  • 150g soft unsalted butter
  • 150g caster sugar
  • 150g room temperature eggs
  • 150g self raising flour
  • Pinch of salt
  • Zest and juice of a large lemon
  • 1 table spoon milk

Method

Preheat oven to 180c

No messing around this time. Whack everything into a bowl and beat like crazy for 2ish minutes. Half fill your cupcakes cases with batter. And bake for 20 minutes or until cupcakes are baked.

Checking if they  are done

Press the tops of the cupcakes lightly if they spring back they are cooked if not give them a little more time. Sometimes I just leave my cupcakes in the oven with the heat off to finish baking.20150507_164340

Buttercream

  • 100g roasted strawberries
  • 100g softened butter
  • 300g icing  sugar
  • Squeeze of lemon juice

Strawberries should be cool before using them in the buttercream. We aren’t  looking to melt the butter. Beat all ingredients  apart from strawberries together. Add in strawberries. Taste and pipe

20150507_164256

Yeah not my best piping but the best I could do in a short amount of time.

Leave a Reply

