Apple croissant

DSCF3044

I brought a load of apples with the intention of baking something with them, this is due to my apple muffin mishap.

Moving on. Apple croissants.

These are not little apple croissants. This basically looks like a strudel but is made with Michel Rouxs croissant dough.

Others had problems with Michel recipe apparently there was too little water and the dough doesn’t work , but not for me. I love me some Roux family, although I did change the recipe a tad. Also I cut the resting time in half, in total croissant dough should rest overnight and have long resting times between laminations.  This dough took 4 hours.

Croissant recipe

  • Ingredients
    12g  yeast ( unless using fresh then double)
  • 50g water
  • 250ml Tepid milk
  • 275g Butter (cold but not too hard)
  • 12g Fine salt
  • 50g Sugar
  • 250g Plain flour
  • 250g strong white flour

Egg wash (1 yolk mixed with 1tbsp milk)

Caramelized apple recipe 

  • 80g butter
  • 45g sugar ( I used vanilla sugar)
  • 400g peeled and diced apples ( I used green apple called Peril and cut my apple different sizes purposely to see if it made any difference)
  • Squeeze of lemon juice
  • 5g ground cinnamon

 Method

Firstly I weighed everything out but I left the butter in the fridge.
DSCF3021

I had to reactivate my yeast. I simply poured the 50g of water over the yeast, mixed and left for 15 minutes.

DSCF3025

Here’s the point where I get too busy to take pictures.  Michel says to use a mixer with a dough hook and add yeast then gradually add in the milk.

I poured it all in a bowl until it became a slightly dryer dough. The dough was  shaggy ( it wasn’t a smooth uniform dough it was a bit rough and bits was falling off) which meant that I added in a tiny  bit of water about 20g worth. I kneaded that bad boy for 3 minutes until it looked at bit smoother.  Rest for 1 hour.

I rolled out the dough to a circle and folded in the butter to laminate the dough. There is a link underneath which gives AMAZING pictures on how to laminate.

http://www.bakingmatters.co.uk/puff-pastry.php

This a link directing you how to do it, if you haven’t before.

You fold the croissant dough 3 times. The first turn is where the butter is folded in which is then rested for 30 minutes. Turn the pastry 45 degrees to the right and fold again.  Rest and the final fold.

This is the resting time where you put your dough into the fridge and start making your caramelized apples.

DSCF3024

Caramelised Apples  

Method

Using a medium sized pot, melt the butter over a medium heat then add in the sugar and a squeeze of lemon juice. The lemon juice prevents splitting.

Cook this until golden brown, this is the point where the apples are added. The  apples should be cooked for 15 minutes or until the apple are tender. I added a teaspoon of cinnamon once the apples came off the heat.

Leave to cool

Rolling, filling and baking time!

Preheat the oven to 170

Take the dough from the fridge. It is easier to roll cold as it is less inclined to shrink.

Dust your surface with flour, then roll out dough into a triangle. It should be the thickness of a pound coin. I used a butter knife to light score the dough into 3  even vertical lines.

I cut the outer two lines horizontally in 2cm strips. Then cover the middle of the dough with the apple filling. Fold over the outer strips of dough alternating over the apple filling. I think of a plait when I do this.  Egg wash onceDSCF3031

Leave the dough to rise for 45 minutes until doubled in size , egg wash again and

put in preheated oven to bake.

I would suggest that you flip this over when it has browned after about  35 minutes and bake the remaining 10 minutes with the apple croissant upside.

DSCF3044

Serve slices warm.

Leave a Reply

