Vanilla birthday cake

DSCF3080

It seems all my orders seem to come last minute only a day or two until they want the cake. This birthday cake was for one of my friends daughters I basically had a day to make, fill and ice it.  So there was no time to mess about.

Fortunately for me a Victoria sponge was requested.

A little smear of food colouring into a basic British butter-cream and it is basically complete.

This is another all in one recipe, as I sometimes feel that this method effects the rise of the cake this is why I have added an extra 3g of baking powder feel free to omit from your recipe.

When you look at the ingredients list you can see that  I used granulated sugar instead of caster this was sheer experimentation. I feel that the price difference between the two was enough to warrant trying to substitute them to see if the difference .  There wasn’t any. This cake was a light and fluffy as ever, I simply blitzed the granulated sugar in a grinder to make it finer and beat theDSCF3085 mixture for a minute or two longer than I normally would.

I can’t lie I’m a bit rusty with buttercreaming  as you can see from this photo but practice makes perfect and all that…

Ingredients

Cake

  • 200g butter
  • 200g sugar ( I used granulated you could use caster)
  • 200g/ 4 eggs
  • 200g self raising flour
  • 3g baking powder ( optional)
  • splash of milk

Filling

  • 200g raspberry jam ( or whatever flavour jam you fancy!)

Butter-cream

  • 200g butter
  • 350g icing sugar
  • 1 teaspoon of vanilla extract

Method

Make sure all ingredients are at room temperature and beat together until smooth. If your cake batter is a little thick add a splash of milk.

Divide into 2 cake tins and bake for 30 minutes at 180c.

Once the cake comes out let them cool. I literally turned both cakes upside down to even out the tops so I didn’t have to trim them.

Keep the bottom cake the right side up and spread the jam on top of this . I mashed the jam with the back of a spoon to make it more spreadable and used the same spoon to smooth it over the cake.  Then place the top layer upside down with the flatter side towards you.

Cover with butter-cream and enjoy. DSCF3079

Leave a Reply

