Waffles

DSCF3287

It’s been a while since I updated but to be honest I have seen my viewing figures so there isn’t a large amount of people waiting.

Never the less I have been baking and cooking but due to lack of sunshine my pictures are left even more wanting than ever before.  I didn’t have the heart to post pictures so dark/unappealing when the food I made was delicious!( if I say so myself..)

To the waffles. I had always had a slight thing about certain foods, brownies, cookies, pancakes and waffles. I am pleased to say apart from thick american pancakes ( which I think aren’t that amazing from what I’ve had ) I have generally got all the others down pat. 

As my first attempt I used a pretty basic batter that only takes a few minutes  and doesn’t require a lot of thinking. Never fear they are still delicious just not authentic. I do have a traditional  recipe that uses yeast and whipped egg whites waiting but that wasn’t for now.

These are slightly adapted from a Jamie Oliver recipe, I served these pretty simply with butter and maple syrup but serve how you wish.

 

Waffles

Makes about 6 medium waffles 

  • 150g self raising flourDSCF3289
  • 3g baking powder
  • pinch salt
  • 15g vanilla sugar
  • 20g melted butter
  • 220g full fat milk
  • 1/4 Zest of a lemon
  • 1 egg

 

Method

  1. I switched on my waffle iron first and let it heat up. The batter is so quick to make it only allowed 5 minutes of preheating.
  2. Measure out the flour, baking powder, sugar and salt into a bowl.
  3. Briefly mix in the wet ingredients ( milk, butter, egg) into the bowl of dry ingredients along with the 1/4 lemon zest.
  4. It’s ok if there are lumps! My batter had a few, they cook out in the waffle iron so don’t worry.
  5. Cook your waffles according to your waffle machines instructions, my waffles only took a minute and a half. 

Serve with whatever you like.

For some ideas, you could have whipped cream, chocolate sauce, caramel sauce, fruit sauces, fruit compote, chopped fruit, caramelized or roasted fruit, ice cream, jam and many other toppings. 

 

DSCF3290

 

Leave a Reply

