Brown butter apple cake

I looked at how often I seem to be updating this blog and it doesn’t seem to be as often a I should. Therefore I made it my mission to start posting more. I wanted to make something but I just didn’t know what and on the actual day I had time to make something I barely had any ingredients.

Inspiration struck.

And this brown butter caramelised Apple cake was made.

DSCF3294

Moist, buttery and fruity this cake was amazing for the wintry weather that we are having.

If you intend to try this recipe It must be noted that the brown butter has to be prepared enough in advance that it is solid enough to beat with the sugar. The recipe doesn’t take long, despite my length explanation!

Ingredients

For the cake

  • 92g browned butter
  • 100g light brown sugar
  • 2 small eggs
  • 110g self raising flour
  • 82ml milk
  • 1 diced small apple ( I left the skin on)
  • pinch of salt
  • 1/8 teaspoon of cinnamon

Caramel

  • 100g sugar

Method

  1. Firstly brown the butter. This is an important step and it is easier to burn it so be careful.
  2. Put the butter on a medium head in a medium sized pan ( make sure there is enough room for the butter to foam up and sizzle without any danger to yourself).
  3. The butter will melt and start to foam up. You should stir it quite frequently, it will start to change colour and will smell nutty. I took mine off when it was oaky brown.
  4. Put it in a heatproof container and in the fridge or freezer to set up.
  5. While the butter is firming up, make the caramel.
  6. Firstly you should have a greased baking tin. Keep this close to hand.
  7. The method I used was a dry caramel, in another pan, sprinkle the sugar evenly into the pan. Don’t stir the sugar! Wait for it to start melt and if there are spots of sugar that hasn’t started to caramelise, you may gently swirl the pan to encourage it.
  8. Once the sugar has melted pour it into the bottom of the cake tin. The apples can then be put on top of the caramel

The cake is really easy now. I promise!

  1. Beat the butter and sugar together, I did this for about 3ish minutes until the mixture went white.
  2. Gradually add the eggs and then half the flour.
  3. Add in half the milk, the remaining flour and the last of the milk. Spoon batter over the apples and bake for about 25minutes.

 

DSCF3292

Leave a Reply

