Birthday cake

It was a special boys birthday this week and he wanted a football themed cake.cake baking

 

Please excuse the candle it was the only picture I could get of the cake before it was cut.

The only thing was there wasn’t a chance I was going to invest in a round ball shaped cake tin nor was there a chance in hell that I was going to carve a cake into a perfect circle. This left me two options either a football pitch or a t shirt.

The pitch idea was OK, but I liked the idea of a t shirt more.

I don’t have 100% clear photos of this cake unfortunately.

I tripled this recipe and had some mix left over for a 1kg loaf cake for the family.

Bake and preheat oven at 170. Small cake serves 8, large cake serves 25/30ish people

Ingredients

  • 175g butter, softened
  • 175g caster sugar
  • 3 eggs
  • 250g self-raising flour
  • 1 tsp baking powder
  • 3 tbsp milk
  • 1 lemon (zest)

Changes due to size. Obviously I multiplied everything by 3 I also added an additional 2 eggs and probably about another 100ml of milk to get it to a dropping consistency. I baked it in a brownie tin.

Method

  1. Traditional creaming method here folk.
  2. Cream the butter and sugar together for about 10 minutes!
  3. Then I added the eggs and flour at the same time. Gave it a quick mix on my machine.
  4. Using a wooden spoon I added in the milk a bit at a time.
  5. Bake for 35 minutes if making a small. The large took 1 hour 15 minutes at 170. 

Either eat plain or slice and fill with jam and cover with buttercream.

Buttercream

  • 120g butter
  • 240g icing sugar
  • 1/2 vanilla pod
  • sugar syrup or milk for consistency

Sugar syrup is just equal quantities of sugar and water heated until the sugar has dissolved.

Method

Beat everything together for a long time, until soft fluffy and white. Use a mixer to avoid a sore hand.

If the buttercream isn’t the right consistency for spreading, add a little sugar syrup or milk.

cake slice

Leave a Reply

