Ralph- A chocolate and hazelnut cake

ralph

I have got into this odd habit of late. Every single cake I bake has to be named and not like cakey sounding names with things like delicious or whatever in them.

Real names.

People names.

I have no doubt that a psychiatrist would have many things to say to me about this attachment to a object which I would happily greedily eat. As far as odd habits go, I don’t think this is the worst. Considering people name toilets when they are sold and we know what they are for.

This was my first attempt at Swiss meringue buttercream, after all the hype and the fact I spare time I had i thought it was too good to miss. There was all these horror stories about split buttercream and crazily cleaning your equipment before hand. I made a small batch and had no problems what so ever.

It was everything everyone said it would be, light, creamy and soft.

It just wasn’t for me, personally I feel that if you are going to go through the effort to make a buttercream with cooked sugar it has to be french which uses egg yolks and is much more rich.

I made one of the famous cakes that go around the internet and used melted butter instead of oil, mixed my swiss meringue with a chocolate hazelnut spread.

And TA-DA Ralph was made.

 

Screenshot_2016-06-13-15-39-59-1

 

My photo is a bit dark but the cake was finished last night and a sample slice eaten this morning. Screenshot_2016-06-13-15-39-11-1

Leave a Reply

